bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

Love That Boy!

My husband and I have often compared our two kids to ourselves.  My son and I are a lot alike.  We think alike, we are emotional, and we are super-cool.  Okay, well, maybe not that latter part, but we are very similar.

My son is in 6th grade, but still loves to give me hugs (not necessarily in front of his friends), so this morning before he left for school, he and I were giving each other a long hug.   He said, “I can hear your heartbeat.”  I said, “What is it saying?”  Now, with my son being just like me, I expected an answer like “thump thump thump.” or something like that.  Instead, he said, “Uh huh….Okay…It says that you should sit down more today because it is getting tired.”  Oh my.  This kid is amazing.  The last couple of days have been “not great” to say the least.  Maybe it’s God’s way of reminding me that I’m still recovering.  But, I have been very tired.  And, this kid noticed.

So, hug your kids today.  Even if you have to corner them in a room.  They’ll love you for it.  Eventually.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

