bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

Funny or Inappropriate?

Recently I was surfing the web and found sweatshirts with sayings on them about being bipolar.  Some of them were serious, some were humorous, and some were downright strange.  I was fixated on one that said:

“My doctor tells me I’m bipolar and that makes me so sad happy sad.”

I thought it was hilarious!  My hubby says he doesn’t know why I would want to wear a shirt like that.  My mother agrees.  (My father hasn’t weighed in on the subject, but I am going to guess that he would agree with my mom on this one.)  Now, let me explain my husband’s point of view (and I’m sure he’ll correct me if I’m wrong).  He doesn’t see why anyone would wear a shirt promoting an illness.  This includes diabetes, breast cancer, or bipolar disorder.  And, in general, he’s not a wearer of t-shirts with sayings.  My mom’s opinion was that it made fun of the disease and the pink breast cancer ones do not.  So, you see, neither one of them had a problem with the shirt (or me) being bipolar.

So, I’m wondering.  Do I buy the shirt?  I explained to my mom that I could buy a serious one, but that just isn’t me.  I am a humorous person (I think) and as you all know, I’m treating this with a light heart when I can.  I had a bad day yesterday and today started out crummy.  But things got better today after my nap.  (Thanks, Mom and Dad for taking me to lunch.)  I just seem to have this heavy weight on me all day, but that’s not so awful. 

Anyway, back to the shirt.  I think it’s funny and it’s not like I would wear it as a uniform every single day.  (There was another one I liked that said, “And this is me ON my medication!”  But, I liked the other one better and two might be pushing it.)

So what do you think?

And, if you are interested in funny or cute t-shirts, coffee mugs, coasters, etc. check out www.cafepress.com where I found this shirt.  For those of you who love the news and like to laugh at it, there’s one that says, “Don’t tase me, bro!”  Of course, they have ones for the politically minded and supporters of each candidate, but who knows how long you could wear it before it became a rag with which to wash your car?

Comments on: "Funny or Inappropriate?" (8)

  1. I’m totally in favor of impulse shopping, so I say buy it! Especially if it makes you happy! 🙂
    Deb

  2. I think the shirt is funny and can see you wearing it! They say laughter is the best medicine and if it makes you laugh then that is great.

  3. I think that if we are well enough to laugh at our bipolar then we are taking power away from the illness and placing the power in our own hands. I can’t tell you about whether to buy it or not, but that is one funny shirt!

    I absolutely love the one with the clown face on it that says… “Go ahead and @#$% with me. I’m bipolar. If I kill you all I get is a lifetime of free drugs and art therapy.” Now THAT is inappropriate and I think it is AMAZINGLY funny!

  4. zuzuernie said:

    HA! I love that shirt! And it is very funny! But the clown creeps me out!

  5. I can see Tom and your Mom’s point of view. I think if anyone could pull-off that shirt, it would be you. Maybe a coffe mug or bag would be better. Then if you get upset you could throw the mug!

  6. bobbinhead said:

    ROTFLOL. I love the shirt!! Go for it. I’d wear it even though my hubby would say NO. The clown one is hilarious in it’s own way, but I think it’s inappropriate for wearing.

  7. I think it’s hilarious. I might get me one.

  8. Hilarious! I just love it! (Though I can see why Dad and Nannie wouldn’t like it…)

Leave a comment