bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

I’ve been having a tough week.  Been very sleepy.  Can’t seem to concentrate long enough to read anything of length.  Been eating like crazy (to keep awake and just seem hungry all the time).  And weeping.  Not the huge breakdowns, but weeping, just the same.  And, I don’t feel better when I’m done.

Yesterday, I called my dad and told him I was having a bad morning and asked him to meet me for lunch.  He was quick to agree and did wonders for me.  Helped me talk about other things.  Helped me analyze what had been happening that could have triggered this episode.  Waited at home for me to find out what the doctor said.  He was awesome.  Just what I needed.

So, fortunately, yesterday I had a scheduled appointment with my psychiatrist.  After I updated him on the past six weeks, he said that it sounded as though I was depressed.  After thinking about it (and the above symptoms), I agreed.  So, he’s upping the Cymbalta.  Which I was going to ask about anyway.  So we were on the same page. 

The only problem is that now I have to wait at least a week for this stuff to start to make a difference.  My patience is as short as Herve Villacheze.  I hate that more than the weepiness.  I know I am short on patience, but it just rises to the top so quickly that I can’t seem to do anything about it before it spurts out.

Sorry to bring everyone down, but this blog really helps, plus I can let my friends and family know without having to repeat it and (gasp) talk on the phone.

Comments on: "And Then Depression Set In" (4)

  1. I’m sorry you’re having a low. Glad you’re getting help, though. Despite all this, you still made me smile with the Herve reference. Da plane! Da plane!

  2. Hang in there. Isn’t it amazing how fast the irritability and impatience sets in with the depression? Ugh!!! Anyway, thinking of you………

  3. MarlaLAM said:

    Sorry to hear about your day. After helping my next door neighbor with her Garage Sale yesterday, I slept till 11:30 today & have been feeling low. Weather doesn’t help. I’m glad that your doctor is lsitening to you. That in itself is a good thing. This too shall pass. NO sppons today!!

  4. Hey, girl-quite the busy week last week with dance, and now the adrenaline rush has passed-kind of like right after Christmas, or when company (finally) leaves. But you know that this, too, shall pass-look at all the tunnels you’ve come out of! Your doctor sounds great, too. Have you thought about meditation? It truly is a wonderful, calming thing to do, especially the breathing part. Just a thought.
    Love ya, kiddo, hang in there!
    KC

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

