bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

God Provides

I am halfway through helping direct VBS.  It hasn’t been easy, but I am loving it.  The pastor’s wife said to me today, “I am so glad you are the one in here (the office).  I just couldn’t do that kind of thing.”  Wow.  To me, this woman is amazing.  She is teaching music to the little 3 year olds up to the 11 year olds.  And she does such a great job!  Our theme is Cosmic City and I walked through there one day and she was teaching the words to little kids by putting different pieces on a rocket ship as they learned them.  She is so creative. 

But, today she helped me realize that God gives us all different gifts.  And, it is up to us to find out what they are and use them to His glory.  Considering my bipolar issues, I was tempted to sit this VBS out, for fear of having a setback.  I just couldn’t do it.  I was offered the position of just managing the week by composing and sending out daily newsletters, making sure everyone has what they need, putting out fires (not literally), and generally being the go-to gal.  That was right up my alley.  I was shocked that the others on the Steering Team didn’t want to do it.  And, after talking with my therapist, I realized I could do it.  I had to give up a lot of control, which wasn’t easy, but the motivation was there.  🙂  And, amazingly, things got done without me worrying about them!  (How is that possible?!?!)

I even had a mom say to me, “Hey!  I thought you said 3 years ago you were done with doing this!  I remember it because I was so disappointed because you do such a great job!”  I only see this woman once every year, and yet she remembered me.  My own son said, “Mom, you do such a great job on VBS.  And, even though you are not completely in charge this year, it has the “Michelle Farmer touch” that makes it so great.”  Wow. 

God provides us with what we need.  The Bible verse yesterday was “The Lord will guide you always.  He will satisfy your needs.”  (Isaiah 58:11).  I’ve needed strength and rest to get me through this week, and God has definitely given it to me.  He’s also had my family looking out for me and reminding me to leave when I said I’d leave. 

We’ve seen others be provided for this week.  There is a woman who desperately wanted to help this week.  She has some major back issues.  After the first day, she was wiped out and really felt that maybe she shouldn’t continue.  There was another woman who felt called to come and help at VBS, had no specific job, but came anyway.  Yep.  You guessed it.  The two women became one person for the week.  The first woman is now able to enjoy her week with her grandchildren at VBS, and the second woman has a place where she is needed.

We also had a guy come who does not belong to our church, but his wife and daughter do.  He has helped all week with the financial stuff.  Donations for VBS, donations for our mission trip, a count for the luncheon on Friday, and keeping track of the bowling outing we’ve decided to tackle after the last day.  What a blessing he has been!  His talent is spreadsheets and finance.  He’s whipped up an excellent sheet to keep track of everything, and everything balances!  The great thing about this is, at this time he doesn’t have a job, but this has given him the opportunity to help and feel needed.  (Plus, I usually end up doing that job, and things don’t always balance when I’m done!  AND, I’d still be up at church counting money!)

So, God really does provide for us.  Just look for it in your daily life.  Our assistant pastor’s wife calls those sitings “God kisses.”  I like that.  And this week I feel VERY loved.

Comments on: "God Provides" (6)

  1. migraine queen said:

    I tell ya, it feels like we have our “old Michelle” back and it feels MIGHTY GOOD! You seem to be the happiest when you are serving God. What a lesson for all of us. Keep looking up, we love ya!

  2. Michelle-to know you is such a gift! I love the “God-kissed” moments from everyday life, and need your blog to keep me grounded and seeing them. Thank you!
    I’m not really expecting you, but come on by bunko if you feel the urge-always good to see your smiling face!
    Love,
    KC

  3. Thanks for sharing! God Bless.

  4. You just brought tears to me as I read this, just reminding me how much God is really in control and gives us the strength we need. You do add such that good-feeling to everything you do. Love ya much!!!

  5. girl, i don’t know why u keep wanting to give up the whole ‘vbs’ gig b.c. u rock at it! u know what needs to be done and u get it done (plus so many people are willing to help out!)its also wonderful to see u coming alive again girl, u have always put a smile on my face, ur great! lots of love!

  6. MarlaLAM said:

    And don’t forget all those KOK Prayer Warriors who were lifting everybody up!! I find that when I’m serving others, I’m the happiest!! God bless you. Lots of God kisses at VBS!!! Thank you for serving!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

