bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

Strange Breakfasts

I just watched a video about blogging, and apparently there is a book titled, No One Cares What You Had for Breakfast.  I agree with that.  Besides, my breakfast was so unhealthy today I wouldn’t disclose that anyway.  Honestly, I am like my dad in the sense that the two of us could eat breakfast three meals a day.  So, I do love breakfast.  Mark needs breakfast, too, and will eat a bowl of cereal no matter what time of day.  Tom and Karen could go without breakfast without even batting an eye. 

But, as my family was in the car today, we were discussing what people eat for breakfast.  Mark was telling us about a friend of his who had had pizza for breakfast.  Tom and I told him we both would eat pizza for breakfast when we were in college.  I said I’d still eat pizza for breakfast, as long as it was room temp or cold.  Tom said I wasn’t in college anymore.  I said, “Well, I’ve been to college, so now I can.”  Karen said she’d eat a pizza with bacon on it for breakfast.  (Actually, Karen would eat anything with bacon on it.  Anytime.) 

We all agreed that those chicken biscuit sandwiches now offered at McDonald’s were just weird.   Does anyone actually order those?  Now, I never order chicken sandwiches to begin with, but chicken for breakfast just seems weird to me.

I do feel like I have to actually chew something to make it count for a breakfast.  I like yogurt, but I have to eat something else with it to make it breakfast.  (a chocolate chip cookie, brownie, pop tart.  KIDDING, Mom!)

So, that discussion made me curious.  What odd things do you eat to start off your day?

Comments on: "Strange Breakfasts" (3)

  1. We Greeks make this dessert that has phyllo pastry on the top and bottom and a custard on the inside. It’s then doused with a honey syrup and is delicious. We generally only make it for special occasions. If you are lucky enough to have leftovers, then you definately have some more for breakfast the next morning! (not very healty, but really yummy!) I picked up some at the Greek Festival yesterday and have already enjoyed some for breakfast-ha!!!

  2. migraine queen said:

    For breakfast, I have been known to eat homemade fudge with nuts, of course. Wait a minute now! Isn’t their protein in nuts?

  3. Hmmm-now we’re talkin’! As a rule, I really try to eat my Fiber One or All Bran flakes with fresh strawberries AND blueberries. I’ve now come to miss it when I don’t. But don’t worry, I’m really not that healthy-my favorite ‘odd’ thing for breakfast is something we only make around the holidays. It is the BEST for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving/Christmas! The only name we’ve ever called it is “Green Stuff” (mmmm)-a concoction of lemon and lime jello, cool whip, pineapple, cottage cheese and chopped pecans or walnuts. Fall is coming!
    KC
    P.S. I’ll send out the recipe if you’d like to try it for yourself!;)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

