bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

Zuzu Goes on an Outing

Yep.  I went outside of my yard for the first time in over three weeks (other than in and out of doctors’ offices).  I was so excited about it.  It made me think I should write a children’s book series….Zuzu Goes on an Outing, Zuzu Goes Out to Dinner, Zuzu Takes a Walk, Zuzu Goes to Church, and much, much later, Zuzu Makes Dinner.

I called my mom and told her that I wanted to venture out, but wasn’t sure what to do.  I mentioned grocery shopping for a few items, and she thought that sounded like a great idea.

She came to pick up me and my Magic 8 ball head (see previous post), and we were off to Dierberg’s.  I had no idea how often I quickly turn my head.  Holy cats!   I realized early on, I was going to have to go at a much slower pace, or there was going to be a clean-up in Aisle 3. 

I’m pleased to announce that $55 later (I set out for toilet paper, soda for Mark’s trip, and fish food.  Huh.  Came home with a little more.  Not much, but more), I made it home at last.

I told my mom that I wish there was a t-shirt that said, “I just had surgery.  That’s why I’m moving so slow.”  She thought that was silly.  She asked if I ever paid attention to how quickly people moved.  I said I sure did, if they were in front of me.  I usually yell at the top of my lungs, “Hey, Queen of the Snails!  Let’s move it!  I’m growing a beard back here!”   

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank God for the gift of a beautiful, sunny morning that allowed me to enjoy my big outing!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

