bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

The Good Ol’ Days

Looking for something to blog about, I searched the web for blog prompts. Some were just boring, others were bizarre. (Describe your first experience in a cemetery.  Really? Actually, I enjoy visiting cemeteries, but that’s just a freak part of me, not blog-worthy.) Then I ran across one that asked, “What’s your favorite historical era? Who would you want to meet? Blah blah blah.” Which got me to thinking, “If I could live in another decade, when would that be?”

I’ve always thought “my time” would have been the 50s. Love the fashion, music, and the general “good feel” of the decade. I’m not just gathering this info from Happy Days,  my parents grew up during that era as well. So, how different would my life be, anyway?

In my younger years, I would have ROCKED a poodle skirt. I think it would have looked a lot better than those monogrammed sweaters that were popular when I was in high school. Sock hops looked like fun, but I didn’t attend a dance in high school, so I’m going with the idea that that probably wouldn’t have changed, even in the 50s.

No tv. Hmmm. I could live with that, I think. If we had one, we wouldn’t have a lot of choices, but that would be fine. We don’t even have cable or dish now.

Of course, I wouldn’t have a computer or Facebook (gasp!!!). I could live without that as well.

The one thing I would the have the hardest time with would be dealing with my bipolar disorder.  Manic-depression was not diagnosed until 1958. Would I have been diagnosed with depression? Or would I just have been told that I had “nerves”? Would I have been given lithium?  Or would I have self-medicated with alcohol? Unfortunately, I think the latter is more likely. Which, in turn, would not have helped the depression at all. Ugh. Certainly, no one was up front about their mental illness.

So, maybe the 50s wouldn’t have been so great after all.

I think I’ll stick to now, thank you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

