bipolar mom shares her insights on everyday life

My family absolutely loved going to Papi’s in Wildwood and was very sad when it went out of business. The owner assured people that the new restaurant coming in was a friend of his, and we should try it out. After what seemed like a decade later, the new place, Chimi’s, has finally opened.

My first thought as I walked in was, “Aw. It reminds me of Papi’s.” Then, I realized I needed to get over that. Papi was not coming back. The decor actually reminded me a lot of El Maguey’s.

Tom and I got there a little before 6:00, and we got the last table. It was all the way in the back, by the bathroom, and, honestly…dark. If Tom and I were on a date, I might have found it romantic. But, since we are an old married couple, and I need new reading glasses, it was just annoying. There was a light directly over our table, but it had been dimmed for “mood lighting,” I guess. The place filled up pretty quickly after that.

Let’s get down to the food, shall we? I mean, that’s what restaurant reviews are about, right? So, first off, Tom ordered a medium margarita that was very large, and rated it as “a good margarita.” (Which for those of you that don’t know Tom, is his way of saying, “WOW! This is a great margarita!”)

Salsa and chips were nothing to write home about, so I won’t. Not bad, just not remarkable.

But, then, my friends, the chimichangas arrived. Oh. My. Gosh. I haven’t had something this tasty in a looooooong time. I chose the shredded beef chimi, and I don’t think I’ll ever order anything else. It was that good. The beef had been marinated and was so juicy and tender! I actually said, “Mmmmmmm…” when I took my first bite. And then said it again during the second bite. The beans and rice were good as well. The beans were firm, not mushy. The rice had some corn in it. (I don’t care much for corn, but this was a good addition, in my opinion. Gave it a fresher taste.)

All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone who likes Mexican food. I’m sure their other food is good too, but I’ll never know because I’m only going to order the shredded beef chimi every time I go.

Address:17209 New College Ave., Wildwood, MO

Phone: 636-273-4333Image

Comments on: "Restaurant Review: Chimi’s in Wildwood" (2)

  1. YUM! Should we move our usual meeting place??

  2. Ok, Today I went to both Gingham’s AND Chimis. Needless to say, you were on my mind. BTW, ty for the tip that was an awesome chimi.

Leave a comment